Monday, September 13, 2010
Back to Board of Education Page

The Board of Education of Bloomingdale Elementary School District 13 held its annual tour of schools on Monday, September 13, 2010 beginning at 6:00 p.m. at Erickson Elementary School.

Roll Call
Present: Mrs. Diane Birkley, Mrs. Fina Klco, Mrs. Linda Wojcicki, Ms. Tamara Peterson (Mr. Terence McKeown entered the meeting at 7:00 p.m.)

Absent: Dr. Donald Litchfield, Mr. Cary Moreth

Others Present: Dr. Kim Perkins, Mr. Greg Leyden, Dr. John Markgraf (6:00– 6:18 p.m.), Dr. Debbie Kling (6:27-6:55 p.m.), Mr. Mark Dwyer (7:00-7:45 p.m.)

The Board conducted its annual tour of school facilities to review summer maintenance work which had occurred. At Erickson School, the Board reviewed the blacktop work and seal coating that took place. Dr. Markgraf also shared information about HVAC system progress as a result of the installation of new electronic controls and thermostats.

Dr. Kling and Mr. Leyden showed the Board the new boiler and other HVAC system installations at Westfield Middle School. Additionally, the Board viewed the new “Reading Plus” computer lab, the configuration of seventh grade space, the new climbing wall in the gym, and the teachers’ workroom.

At DuJardin School, Mr. Dwyer and Mr. Leyden showed the Board the new rooftop air handling unit, the reconfiguration of boiler room space, and the insides and outsides of the new unit ventilators which were installed.

Following the tour of the three schools, Mr. Leyden demonstrated his ability to access HVAC system controls and system data via a password-protected website. Mr. Leyden is able to review floor plans of each school with current temperature readings, as well as room-by-room views and statistics, trend data, scheduling of temperature set points, and messages regarding system alarms. The HVAC system work was the result of the Board selling $2.8 million in working cash bonds to fund this $2.4 million project plus other related work which will occur in the coming year.


The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Tamara J. Peterson, President
Linda Wojcicki, Secretary